Course Icon

Biology

Course Syllabus

SO Icon

Course Syllabus for Scholars Online Biology

2020-2021 Scholars Online Biology Syllabus:
Homework, Reading Assignments, Discussion Topics, and Related Labs

Use the Links in the Homework column to find your homework assignment. Homework is usually due on the date given, unless otherwise stated in the assignment. Friday sessions are devoted to Lab work and special AP topics not covered in the text.

WeekChatHomeworkReadingTopicLab
1Mon, Aug 31, 2020HW011: 1-11The Scientific Study of Living ThingsField Lab 1: Baseline
Wed, Sep 2, 2020HW02A2: 1-9Elements, Atoms, Molecules, and Chemical Bonds
2Mon, Sep 7, 2020LABOR DAY HOLIDAY
Wed, Sep 9, 2020HW02B2: 10-16The Special Properties of WaterProperties of Water
3Mon, Sep 14, 2020HW03A3: 1-7Organic Compounds: Functional Groups and Carbohydrates
Wed, Sep 16, 2020HW03B3: 8-16Organic Compounds: Lipids, Proteins, and Nucleic AcidsMicroscope Basics and Slide Preparation
4Mon, Sep 21, 2020HW04A4: 1-12Cells: Basic cell structure, Nucleus and Endomembrane components
Wed, Sep 23, 2020HW04B4: 13-22Cells: Energy Organelles, CytoSkeletons and Surfaces2012 AP Lab #4: Osmosis
5Mon, Sep 28, 2020HW05A5:1-9Working Cells: Membranes
Wed, Sep 30, 2020HW05B5: 10-16Working Cells: Energy and Enzymes2012 AP Lab #13 Enzyme Activity (Alternate: Enzymes)
6Mon, Oct 5, 2020HW06A6: 1-8Cellular Respiration: The Process
Wed, Oct 7, 2020HW06B6: 9-16Cellular Respiration: Energy Results2012 AP Lab #6: Respiration
7Mon, Oct 12, 2020HW07A7: 1-9Photosynthesis: Light Reactions
Wed, Oct 14, 2020HW07B7: 10-14Photosynthesis: Calvin Cycle2012 AP Lab #5 Photosynthesis or Dissolved Oxygen Lab
8Mon, Oct 19, 2020HW08A8: 1-10Inheritance: Mitosis
Wed, Oct 21, 2020HW08B8: 11-23Inheritance: Meiosis2012 AP Lab #7: Meiosis/Mitosis
9Mon, Oct 26, 2020HW09A9: 1-10Inheritance: Mendal's Laws
Wed, Oct 28, 2020HW09B9: 11-23Inheritance: Variations on Mendel's LawsField Lab #2
10Mon, Nov 2, 2020HW10A10: 1-16DNA Replication: Inside the Nucleus
Wed, Nov 4, 2020HW10B10: 17-23DNA Replication: Outside the Nucleus2012 AP Lab #3: DNA Sequencing
11Mon, Nov 9, 2020HW11A11: 1-11Gene Control
Wed, Nov 11, 2020HW11B11: 12-18Cloning and Cancer2012 AP Lab #8 Bacterial Transformation
12Mon, Nov 16, 2020HW12A12: 1-10Gene Cloning
Wed, Nov 18, 2020HW12B12: 11-21DNA Profiling and Genomics
13Mon, Nov 23, 2020HW13A13: 1-12Evolution: Darwin's Theory and Populations
Wed, Nov 25, 2020HW13B13:11:18Microevolution Mechanisms2012 AP Lab #2: Mathematical Modeling
14Mon, Nov 30, 2020HW14A14: 1-11 (All)The Origin of Species
Wed, Dec 2, 2020HW15A15: 1-13Origin of Life Questions; Macroevolution
15Mon, Dec 7, 2020HW15B15: 14-19Phylogeny
Wed, Dec 9, 2020HW16A16: 1-11Single Cells: Prokaryotes Field Lab 3
16Mon, Dec 14, 2020HW16B16: 12-19Single Cells: Protists
Wed, Dec 16, 2020HW17A17: 1-11PlantsPond Water
Mon, Dec 21, 2020CHRISTMAS
Wed, Dec 23, 2020CHRISTMAS
Mon, Dec 28, 2020NEW YEAR
Wed, Dec 30, 2020NEW YEAR
17Mon, Jan 4, 2021HW17B17: 12-19Fungi
Wed, Jan 6, 2021HW18A18: 1-9Symmetry and Simple Invertebrates 2012 AP Lab #1 SETUP
18Mon, Jan 11, 2021HW18B18: 11-16Segmented Invertebrates and Echinoders
Wed, Jan 13, 2021HW19A19: 1-10VertebratesField Lab 4
19Mon, Jan 18, 2021HW19B19: 11-17Human Evolution Theories
Wed, Jan 20, 2021ReviewReview of units 1-42012 AP Lab #9: Bacterial DNA
20Mon, Jan 25, 2021HW20A20: 1-15 (All)Animal Tissues
Wed, Jan 27, 2021HW21A21: 1-13Human Digestive SystemVitamin C
21Mon, Feb 1, 2021HW21B21: 14-21Nutrition
Wed, Feb 3, 2021HW22A22: 1-12 (All)Gas ExchangeLung Capacity
22Mon, Feb 8, 2021HW23A23: 1-6Mammalian Cardiovascular System: the Heart
Wed, Feb 10, 2021HW23B23: 7-15Blood Vessels and BloodCirculation
23Mon, Feb 15, 2021HW24A24: 1-11Innate Immunity, Adaptive Immiunity and the Humoral Immune system
Wed, Feb 17, 2021HW24B24: 12-18T Cells and Immune System DisordersImmunology Simulation
24Mon, Feb 22, 2021HW25A25: 1-9 (All)Osmosis and Excretion
Wed, Feb 24, 2021HW26A26: 1-12 (Al)Chemical Regulation: Hormones2012 AP Lab #1 FINISH Or Field Lab 5
25Mon, Mar 1, 2021HW27A27: 1-8Human Reproductive System
Wed, Mar 3, 2021HW27B27: 9-18Embryonic and human developmentTransgenic Fly Lab
26Mon, Mar 8, 2021HW28A28: 1-10Nerve Signals and Transmission
Wed, Mar 10, 2021HW28B28: 11-21Human Brain structureNerve Sensitivity
27Mon, Mar 15, 2021Catch up Week
Wed, Mar 17, 2021Catch up Week
28Mon, Mar 22, 2021HW29A29: 1-6Perception, Hearing, Balance
Wed, Mar 24, 2021HW29B29: 7-13Vision, Taste, SmellPeripheral Vision
29Mon, Mar 29, 2021HOLY WEEK
Wed, Mar 31, 2021HOLY WEEK
30Mon, Apr 5, 2021HW30A30: 1-12Animal Movement
Wed, Apr 7, 2021HW31A31: 1-8Plant Structure, Function, GrowthDissection
Mon, Apr 12, 2021HW31B31: 9-15Reproduction of Flowering Plants
Wed, Apr 14, 2021HW32A32: 1-11Uptake and transport of nutrients; SoilField Lab 6
31Mon, Apr 19, 2021HW32B32: 12-14Nutrition and Symbiosis
Wed, Apr 21, 2021HW33A33: 1-8Plant Hormones2012 AP Lab #11: Plant Transport
32Mon, Apr 26, 2021HW33B33: 9-13Growth Responses, Plant Defenses
Wed, Apr 28, 2021HW34A34: 1-7The Biosphere and Aquatic BiomesPlant Responses
33Mon, May 3, 2021HW34B34: 8-18Terrestrial Biomes
Wed, May 5, 2021HW35A35: 1-11Behavior and LearningBiome Identification
34Mon, May 10, 2021HW35B35: 12-23Foraging, Mating, and Social Behaviors
Wed, May 12, 2021HW36A36: 1-8Population Structure And Dynamics2012 AP Lab #12: Habitat Selection
35Mon, May 17, 2021HW36B36: 9-11Human Populations [AP Exam]
Wed, May 19, 2021HW37A37: 1-13Structural Features of Communities2012 AP Lab #10 Energy Flow
36Mon, May 24, 2021HW37B37: 14-23Ecosystems: Structure, Dynamics, Alterations
Wed, May 26, 2021HW38A38: 1-13 (All)Conservation BiologyRecycling Success
Mon, May 31, 2021Memorial Day Holiday
Wed, Jun 2, 2021ReviewReview of units 5-8Scheduling for Summer Lab Completion