Course Icon

Biology

Course Syllabus

SO Icon

Course Syllabus for Scholars Online Biology

2021-2022 Scholars Online Biology Syllabus:
Homework, Reading Assignments, Discussion Topics, and Related Labs

Use the Links in the Homework column to find your homework assignment. Homework is usually due on the date given, unless otherwise stated in the assignment. Friday sessions are devoted to Lab work and special AP topics not covered in the text.

WeekChatHomeworkReadingTopicLab
1Mon, Sep 6, 2021LABOR DAY HOLIDAY
Wed, Sep 8, 2021HW01A1: 1-11The Scientific Study of Living ThingsField Lab 1: Baseline
2Mon, Sep 13, 2021HW02A2: 1-9Elements, Atoms, Molecules, and Chemical Bonds
Wed, Sep 15, 2021HW02B2: 10-16The Special Properties of WaterProperties of Water
3Mon, Sep 20, 2021HW03A3: 1-7Organic Compounds: Functional Groups and Carbohydrates
Wed, Sep 22, 2021HW03B3: 8-16Organic Compounds: Lipids, Proteins, and Nucleic AcidsMicroscope Basics and Slide Preparation
4Mon, Sep 27, 2021HW04A4: 1-12Cells: Basic cell structure, Nucleus and Endomembrane components
Wed, Sep 29, 2021HW04B4: 13-22Cells: Energy Organelles, CytoSkeletons and Surfaces2012 AP Lab #4: Osmosis
5Mon, Oct 4, 2021HW05A5:1-9Working Cells: Membranes
Wed, Oct 6, 2021HW05B5: 10-16Working Cells: Energy and Enzymes2012 AP Lab #13 Enzyme Activity (Alternate: Enzymes)
6Mon, Oct 11, 2021HW06A6: 1-8Cellular Respiration: The Process
Wed, Oct 13, 2021HW06B6: 9-16Cellular Respiration: Energy Results2012 AP Lab #6: Respiration
7Mon, Oct 18, 2021HW07A7: 1-9Photosynthesis: Light Reactions
Wed, Oct 20, 2021HW07B7: 10-14Photosynthesis: Calvin Cycle2012 AP Lab #5 Photosynthesis or Dissolved Oxygen Lab
8Mon, Oct 25, 2021HW08A8: 1-10Inheritance: Mitosis
Wed, Oct 27, 2021HW08B8: 11-23Inheritance: Meiosis2012 AP Lab #7: Meiosis/Mitosis
9Mon, Nov 1, 2021HW09A9: 1-10Inheritance: Mendal's Laws
Wed, Nov 3, 2021HW09B9: 11-23Inheritance: Variations on Mendel's LawsField Lab #2
10Mon, Nov 8, 2021HW10A10: 1-16DNA Replication: Inside the Nucleus
Wed, Nov 10, 2021HW10B10: 17-23DNA Replication: Outside the Nucleus2012 AP Lab #3: DNA Sequencing
11Mon, Nov 15, 2021HW11A11: 1-11Gene Control
Wed, Nov 17, 2021HW11B11: 12-18Cloning and Cancer2012 AP Lab #8 Bacterial Transformation
12Mon, Nov 22, 2021HW12A12: 1-10Gene Cloning
Wed, Nov 24, 2021HW12B12: 11-21DNA Profiling and Genomics
13Mon, Nov 29, 2021HW13A13: 1-12Evolution: Darwin's Theory and Populations
Wed, Dec 1, 2021HW13B13:11:18Microevolution Mechanisms2012 AP Lab #2: Mathematical Modeling
14Mon, Dec 6, 2021HW14A14: 1-11 (All)The Origin of Species
Wed, Dec 8, 2021HW15A15: 1-13Origin of Life Questions; Macroevolution
15Mon, Dec 13, 2021HW15B15: 14-19Phylogeny
Wed, Dec 15, 2021HW16A16: 1-11Single Cells: Prokaryotes Field Lab 3
16Mon, Dec 20, 2021Christmas
Wed, Dec 22, 2021Christmas
Mon, Dec 27, 2021New Year
Wed, Dec 29, 2021New Year
Mon, Jan 3, 2022HW16B16: 12-19Single Cells: Protists
Wed, Jan 5, 2022HW17A17: 1-11PlantsPond Water
17Mon, Jan 10, 2022HW17B17: 12-19Fungi
Wed, Jan 12, 2022HW18A18: 1-9Symmetry and Simple Invertebrates 2012 AP Lab #1 SETUP
18Mon, Jan 17, 2022HW18B18: 11-16Segmented Invertebrates and Echinoders
Wed, Jan 19, 2022HW19A19: 1-10VertebratesField Lab 4
19Mon, Jan 24, 2022HW19B19: 11-17Human Evolution Theories
Wed, Jan 26, 2022ReviewReview of units 1-42012 AP Lab #9: Bacterial DNA
20Mon, Jan 31, 2022HW20A20: 1-15 (All)Animal Tissues
Wed, Feb 2, 2022HW21A21: 1-13Human Digestive SystemVitamin C
21Mon, Feb 7, 2022HW21B21: 14-21Nutrition
Wed, Feb 9, 2022HW22A22: 1-12 (All)Gas ExchangeLung Capacity
22Mon, Feb 14, 2022HW23A23: 1-6Mammalian Cardiovascular System: the Heart
Wed, Feb 16, 2022HW23B23: 7-15Blood Vessels and BloodCirculation
23Mon, Feb 21, 2022HW24A24: 1-11Innate Immunity, Adaptive Immiunity and the Humoral Immune system
Wed, Feb 23, 2022HW24B24: 12-18T Cells and Immune System DisordersImmunology Simulation
24Mon, Feb 28, 2022HW25A25: 1-9 (All)Osmosis and Excretion
Wed, Mar 2, 2022HW26A26: 1-12 (Al)Chemical Regulation: Hormones2012 AP Lab #1 FINISH Or Field Lab 5
25Mon, Mar 7, 2022HW27A27: 1-8Human Reproductive System
Wed, Mar 9, 2022HW27B27: 9-18Embryonic and human developmentTransgenic Fly Lab
26Mon, Mar 14, 2022HW28A28: 1-10Nerve Signals and Transmission
Wed, Mar 16, 2022HW28B28: 11-21Human Brain structureNerve Sensitivity
27Mon, Mar 21, 2022HW29A29: 1-6Perception, Hearing, Balance
Wed, Mar 23, 2022HW29B29: 7-13Vision, Taste, SmellPeripheral Vision
28Mon, Mar 28, 2022HW30A30: 1-12Animal Movement
Wed, Mar 30, 2022HW31A31: 1-8Plant Structure, Function, GrowthDissection
29Mon, Apr 4, 2022HW31B31: 9-15Reproduction of Flowering Plants
Wed, Apr 6, 2022HW32A32: 1-11Uptake and transport of nutrients; SoilField Lab 6
30Mon, Apr 11, 2022HOLY WEEK
Wed, Apr 13, 2022HOLY WEEK
Mon, Apr 18, 2022HW32B32: 12-14Nutrition and Symbiosis
Wed, Apr 20, 2022HW33A33: 1-8Plant Hormones2012 AP Lab #11: Plant Transport
31Mon, Apr 25, 2022HW33B33: 9-13Growth Responses, Plant Defenses
Wed, Apr 27, 2022HW34A34: 1-7The Biosphere and Aquatic BiomesPlant Responses
32Mon, May 2, 2022HW34B34: 8-18Terrestrial Biomes
Wed, May 4, 2022HW35A35: 1-11Behavior and LearningBiome Identification
33Mon, May 9, 2022HW35B35: 12-23Foraging, Mating, and Social Behaviors
Wed, May 11, 2022HW36A36: 1-8Population Structure And Dynamics2012 AP Lab #12: Habitat Selection
34Mon, May 16, 2022HW36B36: 9-11Human Populations [AP Exam]
Wed, May 18, 2022HW37A37: 1-13Structural Features of Communities2012 AP Lab #10 Energy Flow
35Mon, May 23, 2022HW37B37: 14-23Ecosystems: Structure, Dynamics, Alterations
Wed, May 25, 2022HW38A38: 1-13 (All)Conservation BiologyRecycling Success
36Mon, May 30, 2022Memorial Day Holiday
Wed, Jun 1, 2022ReviewReview of units 5-8Scheduling for Summer Lab Completion