Latin IV: Caesar and Vergil

Dr. Bruce McMenomy for Scholars Online
2018-19: Mondays and Thursdays, 11:00 AM-12:30 PM Eastern

Assignments

All assignments are due on the date for which they are assigned. Please allocate sufficient time. This schedule is possible to maintain, but if you let it slide in the beginning, recovery will be very difficult.

Note that the appendices from The Landmark Caesar from E on are not available in your book, but are part of an extended supplementary volume of forty-four appendices called “Web essays” (about 325 more pages) available online at the Landmark Caesar website. It is a single PDF file that you can download and keep on your own computer for your convenience. Most of them are quite reasonable in length, very clearly written, and will help you understand both your Latin reading and the historical and cultural context in which Caesar was writing.


1. Thu, Sep 5, 2019 Introduction to Caesar and his Latin; general principles of textual scholarship, and how to read Latin prose.

Please read:
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 1: 1-54 (pp. 3-48). This is a longer-than-normal reading assignment in the translation, but you have no Latin to prepare for this class, and I want you to get Book 1 out of the way before you encounter it in Latin, lest you be tempted to use the translation as a crutch in preparing the Latin.

2. Mon, Sep 9, 2019
Please read:
1.1 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 2: 1-17 (pp. 51-64).
Martin Jehne, “Caesar the Politician”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix F (pp. 6-12).
Vocabulary list #1. Take the quiz by Friday.

3. Thu, Sep 12, 2019

Please read:
1.2 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 2: 18-35 (pp. 64-78).
Erich S. Gruen, “The Legitimacy of Caesar’s Wars”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix J (pp. 33-39).

4. Mon, Sep 16, 2019

Please read:
1.3 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 3: 1-14 (pp. 81-94).
Christopher S. Mackay, “The Roman Military”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix D (in the hard copy book: pp. 672-676).
Vocabulary list #2. Take the quiz by Friday.

5. Thu, Sep 19, 2019

Please read:
1.4-5 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 3: 15-29 (pp. 94-106).
Duncan B. Campbell, “The Roman Army Camp”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix Q (pp. 68-72).

6. Mon, Sep 23, 2019

Please read:
1.6-7 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 4: 1-19 (pp. 109-120).
Josh Levithan, “The Rules of War”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix R (pp. 73-78).
Vocabulary list #3. Take the quiz by Friday.

7. Thu, Sep 26, 2019

Please read:
4.24-25 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 4: 20-38 (pp. 120-130). Try to read this after you have prepared your Latin: there was no way to avoid this collision without unduly stretching things, since you have just leapt from the first book to the fourth in the Latin.
Nicolle Hirschfeld, “Caesar at Sea”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix AA (pp. 125-130).

8. Mon, Sep 30, 2019

Please read:
4.26-27 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 5: 1-27 (pp. 133-152).
Ian Ralston, “Oppida: Towns in Caesar’s World”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix L (pp. 44-47).
Vocabulary list #4. Take the quiz by Friday.


9. Thu, Oct 3, 2019

Please read:
4.28-30 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 5: 28-58 (pp. 152-170).
Tom Moore, “Caesar on Britain”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix N (pp. 52-56).

10. Mon, Oct 7, 2019

Please read:
4.31-33 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 6: 1-20 (pp. 173-187).
RIchard J. A. Talbert, “War and Geographical Knowledge”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix W (pp. 97-101).
Vocabulary list #5. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 1 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them. This is probably all fairly unsurprising material.

11. Thu, Oct 10, 2019

Please read:
4.34-36 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 6: 21-44 (pp. 187-200).
Nathan Rosenstein, “Late Republican Provincial Administration”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix P (pp. 63-67).

12. Mon, Oct 14, 2019

Please read:
5.24-26 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 7: 1-28 (pp. 203-223).
Nathan Rosenstein, “The Economics of War”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix T (pp. 84-87).
Vocabulary list #6. Take the quiz by Friday.

13. Thu, Oct 17, 2019

Please read:
5.27-28 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 7: 29-60 (pp. 223-244). Debra L. Nousek, “The Gallic War as a Work of Literature”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix GG (pp. 229-235).

14. Mon, Oct 21, 2019

Please read:
5.29-32 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 7: 61-90 (pp. 244-268).
Nathan Rosenstein, “Military Logistics”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix V (pp. 92-96).
Vocabulary list #7. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 2 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

15. Thu, Oct 24, 2019

Please read:
5.33-35 in Latin.
The Landmark Caesar: Gallic War 8: 1-55 (pp. 271-306). You can skim this — it’s not by Caesar himself.
Alexa Jervis, “The Gallic War as a Work of Propaganda”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix HH (pp. 229-235).

16. Mon, Oct 28, 2019

Please read:
5.36-39 in Latin.
Vocabulary list #8. Take the quiz by Friday.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 1 in translation.
Kurt A. Raaflaub, “The Roman Commentarius and Caesar's Commentaries”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix CC (pp. 203-209).
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 3 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

17. Thu, Oct 31, 2019

Please read:
5.40-42 in Latin.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 2 in translation.
Duncan B. Campbell, “Military Engineering and Sieges”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix S (pp. 79-83).


18. Mon, Nov 4, 2019

Please read:
5.43-44 in Latin.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 3 in translation.
Olivier Büchsenschütz, “Gaul in Caesar’s Time”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix K (pp. 40-43).
Vocabulary list #9. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 4 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

19. Thu, Nov 7, 2019

Please read:
5.45-48 in Latin.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 4 in translation.
Christopher B. Krebs, “Caesar the Historian”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix DD (pp. 210-213).

20. Mon, Nov 11, 2019

Please read:
6.13-15 in Latin.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 5 in translation.
Keith Fairbank, “Caesar’s Portrait of ‘Caesar’”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix EE (pp. 214-222).
Vocabulary list #10. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 5 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

21. Thu, Nov 14, 2019

Please read:
6.16-20 in Latin.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 6 in translation.
Lukas De Blois, “Caesar the General and Leader”, The Landmark Caesar, Appendix X (pp. 102-108).

22. Mon, Nov 18, 2019

Please read:
Introduction to Vergil, Latin poetry and scansion.
Daniel H. Garrison, “The Language of Virgil”, Why Vergil?, pp. 42-45.
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 7 in translation.
Vocabulary list #11. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 6 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

23. Thu, Nov 21, 2019

Please read:
1.1-11
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 8 in translation.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 7 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

24. Mon, Nov 25, 2019

Please read:
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 9 in translation.
1.12-22
Brooks Otis, “The Mystery of the Aeneid”, Why Vergil?, pp. 243-245.


25. Mon, Dec 2, 2019

Please read:
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 10 in translation.
1.23-33
Vocabulary list #12. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 8 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

26. Thu, Dec 5, 2019

Please read:
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 11 in translation.
1.34-41
Brooks Otis, “The Subjective Style”, Why Vergil?, pp. 245-254.

27. Mon, Dec 9, 2019

Please read:
1.42-54
Vergil, Aeneid, Bk. 12 in translation.
Vocabulary list #13. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 9 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

28. Thu, Dec 12, 2019

Please read:
1.55-63
Iliad, 1-2 in translation.

29. Mon, Dec 16, 2019

Please read:
1.64-75
Iliad, 3-4 in translation.
Vocabulary list #14. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 10 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

30. Thu, Dec 19, 2019

Please read:
1.76-86
Iliad, 5-6 in translation.


31. Mon, Jan 6, 2020

Please read:
1.87-101
Iliad, 7-8 in translation.
Vocabulary list #15. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 11 read by now. If you have questions, be prepared to ask them.

32. Thu, Jan 9, 2020

Please read:
1.102-117
Iliad, 9-10 in translation.
Michael Putnam, “The Lyric Genius of the Aeneid”, Why Vergil?, pp. 255-266.

33. Mon, Jan 13, 2020

Please read:
1.118-130
Iliad, 11-12 in translation.
Vocabulary list #16. Take the quiz by Friday.
Syntactical Mechanics: Please have Chapter 12 read by now. There’s probably very little there to ask about.

34. Thu, Jan 16, 2020

Please read:
1.131-141
Iliad, 13-14 in translation.
George Duckworth, “The Architecture of the Aeneid”, Why Vergil?, pp. 148-167.

35. Mon, Jan 20, 2020

Please read:
1.142-156
Iliad, 15-16 in translation.
Vocabulary list #17. Take the quiz by Friday.

36. Thu, Jan 23, 2020

Please read:
1.157-173
Iliad, 17-18 in translation.

37. Mon, Jan 27, 2020

Please read:
1.174-193
Iliad, 19-20 in translation.
Vocabulary list #18. Take the quiz by Friday.

38. Thu, Jan 30, 2020

Please read:
1.194-209
Iliad, 21-22 in translation.
Gregory A. Staley, “Aeneas’ First Act: 1.180-194”, in Why Vergil?, pp. 52-60.


39. Mon, Feb 3, 2020

Please read:
1.418-440
Iliad, 23-24 in translation.
Vocabulary list #19. Take the quiz by Friday.

40. Thu, Feb 6, 2020

Please read:
1.494-519
Odyssey, 1-2 in translation.
Roger A. Hornsby, “The Vergilian Simile as a Means of Judgment”, Why Vergil?, pp. 80-89.

41. Mon, Feb 10, 2020

Please read:
1.520-543
Odyssey, 3-4 in translation.
Vocabulary list #20. Take the quiz by Friday.

42. Thu, Feb 13, 2020

Please read:
1.544-578
Odyssey, 5-6 in translation.
Bernard M. W. Knox, “The Serpent and the Flame: The Imagery of the Second Book of the Aeneid”, Why Vergil?, pp. 65-79.

43. Mon, Feb 17, 2020

Please read:
2.40-56, 201-211
Odyssey, 7-8 in translation.
Vocabulary list #21. Take the quiz by Friday.

44. Thu, Feb 20, 2020

Please read:
2.212-249
Odyssey, 9-10 in translation.

45. Mon, Feb 24, 2020

Please read:
2.268-297
Odyssey, 11-12 in translation.
Vocabulary list #22. Take the quiz by Friday.

46. Thu, Feb 27, 2020
2.559-587


47. Mon, Mar 2, 2020

Please read:
2.588-620
Odyssey, 13-14 in translation.
Vocabulary list #23. Take the quiz by Friday.

48. Thu, Mar 5, 2020

Please read:
4.160-188
Odyssey, 15-16 in translation.
Charles Segal, “Dido’s Hesitation in Aeneid 4”, Why Vergil?, pp. 90-100.

49. Mon, Mar 9, 2020

Please read:
4.189-218
Odyssey, 17-18 in translation.
Vocabulary list #24. Take the quiz by Friday.

50. Thu, Mar 12, 2020

Please read:
4.259-295
Odyssey, 19-20 in translation
Helen Bacon, “The Aeneid as a Drama of Election”, Why Vergil?, pp. 123-141.

51. Mon, Mar 16, 2020

Please read:
4.296-330
Odyssey, 21-22 in translation.
Vocabulary list #25. Take the quiz by Friday.

52. Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Please read:
4.331-361
Odyssey, 23-24 in translation.
Marilyn B. Skinner, “The Last Encounter of Dido and Aeneas: Aen. 6.450-476.”, Why Vergil?, pp. 101-107.

53. Mon, Mar 23, 2020

Please read:
4.659-705
Vocabulary list #26. Take the quiz by Friday.

54. Thu, Mar 26, 2020

Please read:
6.295-332
W. R. Johnson, “Eliot’s Myth and Vergil’s Fictions”, Why Vergil?, pp. 327-342.

55. Mon, Mar 30, 2020

Please read:
6.384-425


56. Thu, Apr 2, 2020

Please read:
6.450-476, 847-853
D. C. Feeney, “History and Revelation in Vergil’s Underworld”, Why Vergil?, pp. 108-122.

57. Mon, Apr 13, 2020

Please read:
6.854-899

58. Thu, Apr 16, 2020
Grammatical review.

59. Mon, Apr 20, 2020
Technical review: scansion.

60. Thu, Apr 23, 2020
Technical review: figures of speech.

61. Mon, Apr 27, 2020
Literary review: Caesar.

62. Thu, Apr 30, 2020
Literary review: Vergil.


63. Mon, May 4, 2020
General review.

64. Thu, May 7, 2020
General review and exam-taking strategies.

65. Mon, May 11, 2020
General review and exam-taking strategies.

NB.: The AP EXAM is TUESDAY, MAY 12, 2020 in the afternoon session.
Verify this with
the College Board AP Central Site.

66. Thu, May 14, 2020
Exam debriefing, final review, and fun stuff.

67. Mon, May 18, 2020Optional.