Latin I: Elementary Latin

2019-20: Bruce A. McMenomy, Ph.D. (supervising)
Susan Dennis and Emily-Marie Gassman for Scholars Online

Section I (Susan Dennis): Mondays and Wednesdays, 9:00 AM to 10:30 AM Eastern Time
Section II (Susan Dennis): Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9:00 AM to 10:30 AM Eastern Time
Section III (Emily-Marie Gassman): Tuesdays and Thursdays, 3:30 PM to 5:00 PM Eastern Time

Overview    Materials    Schedule



Schedule of reading and discussion assignments

1: Wed, Sep 4, 2019; Thu, Sep 5, 2019

Working procedures, scheduling, and general practices. Preface, concepts behind an inflected language; pronunciation. Introduce Caput 1

2: Mon, Sep 9, 2019; Tue, Sep 10, 2019

Caput 1: Field questions about the chapter; Sententiae

3: Wed, Sep 11, 2019; Thu, Sep 12, 2019

Caput 1: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae, continued

4: Mon, Sep 16, 2019; Tue, Sep 17, 2019

Caput 1: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 2

5: Wed, Sep 18, 2019; Thu, Sep 19, 2019

Caput 2: Field questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae 1-15

6: Mon, Sep 23, 2019; Tue, Sep 24, 2019

Caput 2: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae 16-20

7: Wed, Sep 25, 2019; Thu, Sep 26, 2019

Caput 2: Passages, cleanup

8: Mon, Sep 30, 2019; Tue, Oct 1, 2019

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 3.

9: Wed, Oct 2, 2019; Thu, Oct 3, 2019

Caput 3: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes.

10: Mon, Oct 7, 2019; Tue, Oct 8, 2019

Caput 3: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

11: Wed, Oct 9, 2019; Thu, Oct 10, 2019

Caput 3: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 4.

12: Mon, Oct 14, 2019; Tue, Oct 15, 2019

Caput 4: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes.

13: Wed, Oct 16, 2019; Thu, Oct 17, 2019

Caput 4: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

14: Mon, Oct 21, 2019; Tue, Oct 22, 2019

Caput 4: Passages, cleanup.

15: Wed, Oct 23, 2019; Thu, Oct 24, 2019

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 5.

16: Mon, Oct 28, 2019; Tue, Oct 29, 2019

Caput 5: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

17: Wed, Oct 30, 2019; Thu, Oct 31, 2019

Caput 5: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

18: Mon, Nov 4, 2019; Tue, Nov 5, 2019

Caput 5: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 6

19: Wed, Nov 6, 2019; Thu, Nov 7, 2019

Caput 6: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

20: Mon, Nov 11, 2019; Tue, Nov 12, 2019

Caput 6: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

21: Wed, Nov 13, 2019; Thu, Nov 14, 2019

Caput 6: Passages, cleanup

22: Mon, Nov 18, 2019; Tue, Nov 19, 2019

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 7

23: Wed, Nov 20, 2019; Thu, Nov 21, 2019

Caput 7: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

24: Mon, Nov 25, 2019; Tue, Nov 26, 2019

Caput 7: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

25: Mon, Dec 2, 2019; Tue, Dec 3, 2019

Caput 7: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 8

26: Wed, Dec 4, 2019; Thu, Dec 5, 2019

Caput 8: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

27: Mon, Dec 9, 2019; Tue, Dec 10, 2019

Caput 8: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

28: Wed, Dec 11, 2019; Thu, Dec 12, 2019

Caput 8: Passages, cleanup

29: Mon, Dec 16, 2019; Tue, Dec 17, 2019

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 9

30: Wed, Dec 18, 2019; Thu, Dec 19, 2019

Caput 9: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

31: Mon, Jan 6, 2020; Tue, Jan 7, 2020

Caput 9: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

32: Wed, Jan 8, 2020; Thu, Jan 9, 2020

Caput 9: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 10

33: Mon, Jan 13, 2020; Tue, Jan 14, 2020

Caput 10: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

34: Wed, Jan 15, 2020; Thu, Jan 16, 2020

Caput 10: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

35: Mon, Jan 20, 2020; Tue, Jan 21, 2020

Caput 10: Passages, cleanup

36: Wed, Jan 22, 2020; Thu, Jan 23, 2020

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 11

37: Mon, Jan 27, 2020; Tue, Jan 28, 2020

Caput 11: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

38: Wed, Jan 29, 2020; Thu, Jan 30, 2020

Caput 11: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

39: Mon, Feb 3, 2020; Tue, Feb 4, 2020

Caput 11: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 12

40: Wed, Feb 5, 2020; Thu, Feb 6, 2020

Caput 12: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

41: Mon, Feb 10, 2020; Tue, Feb 11, 2020

Caput 12: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

42: Wed, Feb 12, 2020; Thu, Feb 13, 2020

Caput 12: Passages, cleanup

43: Mon, Feb 17, 2020; Tue, Feb 18, 2020

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 13

44: Wed, Feb 19, 2020; Thu, Feb 20, 2020

Caput 13: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

45: Mon, Feb 24, 2020; Tue, Feb 25, 2020

Caput 13: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

46: Wed, Feb 26, 2020; Thu, Feb 27, 2020

Caput 13: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 14

47: Mon, Mar 2, 2020; Tue, Mar 3, 2020

Caput 14: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

48: Wed, Mar 4, 2020; Thu, Mar 5, 2020

Caput 14: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

49: Mon, Mar 9, 2020; Tue, Mar 10, 2020

Caput 14: Passages, cleanup

50: Wed, Mar 11, 2020; Thu, Mar 12, 2020

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 15

51: Mon, Mar 16, 2020; Tue, Mar 17, 2020

Caput 15: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

52: Wed, Mar 18, 2020; Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Caput 15: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

53: Mon, Mar 23, 2020; Tue, Mar 24, 2020

Caput 15: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 16

54: Wed, Mar 25, 2020; Thu, Mar 26, 2020

Caput 16: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

55: Mon, Mar 30, 2020; Tue, Mar 31, 2020

Caput 16: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

56: Wed, Apr 1, 2020; Thu, Apr 2, 2020

Caput 16: Passages, cleanup

57: Mon, Apr 13, 2020; Tue, Apr 14, 2020

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 17

58: Wed, Apr 15, 2020; Thu, Apr 16, 2020

Caput 17: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

59: Mon, Apr 20, 2020; Tue, Apr 21, 2020

Caput 17: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

60: Wed, Apr 22, 2020; Thu, Apr 23, 2020

Caput 17: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 18

61: Mon, Apr 27, 2020; Tue, Apr 28, 2020

Caput 18: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

62: Wed, Apr 29, 2020; Thu, Apr 30, 2020

Caput 18: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

63: Mon, May 4, 2020; Tue, May 5, 2020

Caput 18: Passages, cleanup.

64: Wed, May 6, 2020; Thu, May 7, 2020

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 19

65: Mon, May 11, 2020; Tue, May 12, 2020

Caput 19: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

66: Wed, May 13, 2020; Thu, May 14, 2020

Caput 19: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

67: Mon, May 18, 2020; Tue, May 19, 2020

Caput 19: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 20

68: Wed, May 20, 2020; Thu, May 21, 2020

Caput 20: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

69: Mon, May 25, 2020; Tue, May 26, 2020

Caput 20: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

70: Wed, May 27, 2020; Thu, May 28, 2020

Caput 20: Passages, cleanup.


© Copyright 2014 by Bruce A. McMenomy. Permission to download or print this material is granted to members of Scholars Online for personal study. All other use or redistribution constitutes violation of copyright.